top of page

A Chemical Destiny: An Interview With a Chemist


Chemist, Raymond Liao PhD, Founder of Aquacene
Raymond Liao

For our first article, starting off the Career Chronicles series, we interview Raymond Liao, founder of Aquacene, who narrates his story with Chemistry.


Interviewed By: Jessica Liao


What did you study in college?

I pursued my undergraduate studies in Canada, majoring in Chemistry. Initially, I entered university without a clear direction regarding my major; I explored other subjects such as physics and computer science, but they didn't quite resonate with my interests. It was a pivotal moment in university when I had the opportunity to create my own soaps in a chemistry class and take them home. I know this doesn’t sound like the typical turning point of someone’s life, but this hands-on experience ignited a deep passion within me for the field of chemistry. From that point on, I knew I had discovered my true passion. The sense of wonder and fascination I experienced that day solidified my love for chemistry. I then furthered my academic journey, obtaining a PhD degree in Chemical Engineering from NTU (National Taiwan University).



Can you give a brief introduction about your career?

As the founder of Aquacene, a skincare product brand based in Taiwan, my role includes a wide range of responsibilities aimed at providing safe and effective solutions to people's skin concerns. As skin concerns continue to affect a growing number of individuals, my objective is to create products that inspire confidence and promote healthy, radiant skin.


A core aspect of my job is product development. I utilize my expertise and industry knowledge to create innovative skincare formulations. From soothing sensitive skin to combating signs of aging, every product undergoes a strict formulation process to ensure its efficacy and safety. In addition I am also actively involved in managing and maintaining the smooth operation of the company.


By combining scientific expertise, business intelligence, and an unshakeable commitment to customer satisfaction, I am dedicated to providing safe and effective skincare solutions that empower individuals to embrace their unique beauty and enjoy vibrant, healthy skin.



What is a false stereotype people have with Chemists?

Usually, when people first think of a chemist, they visualize this image of them wearing white lab coats. Yes, we do wear white lab coats but solely for safety and hygiene purposes, not because of our preferred fashion choice. Some may even think of us as modern day sorcerers that brew potions in their lab. While that is partially true, we utilize our expertise in understanding chemicals and their reactions rather than casting spells. Everyone also seems to expect us to be walking encyclopedias of elements. Sure, I know approximately the organization and overall structure of it but don’t expect me to recite all 118 elements to you.



Is this career different from what you expected? How so?

At first, I thought being a chemist was all about doing experiments; however, it is far more than that. This career involves scientific discovery, problem solving, and continuous discovery. Of course, like any other career there have been challenges along the way, but the satisfaction of achieving good results definitely outweighs all the difficulties.


What type of people would suit being a chemist?

My career looks for someone that enjoys a challenge. Developing formulations can be a challenging task, especially when starting from scratch. Due to the multiple trials and failed tests, the job requires a lot of patience and perseverance.



What advice would you give to students who are planning on choosing this career

Be open to trying different possibilities. Embrace creativity and take risks.


Careers like R&D engineer and lab experiments followed a simple routine, which was very mundane. However-thinking back- they actually allowed me to gain a lot of experience which helped me in the future when I started Aquacene.


But my main piece of advice for everyone would be to keep your options open. Don’t feel pressured to choose one career after university and stick to it your entire life. Go out and try different jobs even if it isn’t your first choice because it will build up your experience and help differentiate your real passion from the others.

Commentaires


bottom of page