top of page

Is Pre-College Worth It?

Written By: Mika Lai


Brown Univerisity

Introduction

Pre-College: A watered-down version of college, entails programs designed to prepare students for the transition from high school to college. These initiatives offer academic, social and practical support, meaning to enhance students’ readiness and success in higher education. It gives them a taste of what it is like to study their dream major at their dream college. As ideal as this seems, pre-college comes with a heavy cost that makes one question the worth of it all. As a student who has been to pre-college, in this article I will share my personal experience and dissect the advantages and limitations of this seemingly good opportunity.



My Personal Experience

In the Summer of 2023, I spent 3 weeks at Brown University taking a Course called: Neuroscience in Health & Disease. Safe to say, I met the nicest people and had one of the best summers of my life- which sounds a bit dramatic, but it truly was a wonderful experience.


Unlike regular college, lectures were mandatory- 3 hours everyday. However I somehow managed to enroll in one of the hardest courses. Being a biology-oriented course, there was a lot of content that needed to be memorized and studied, for daily quizzes, awaiting the final exam on the last day. Honestly though, if you studied an hour everyday, you didn’t really need to cram the night before the last day, especially since you would want to spend your last night with your friends. 



Pre-college definitely got my hopes up for college. At the time, I didn’t exactly feel like I fit in my high school, and as an introvert, I was extremely nervous on the first day of camp. I stayed up until 3am texting my friends, preparing little introductions in case it was an icebreaker activity. My friends all told me: “relax, you’re going to meet your people”. I was skeptical until it truly did happen. I am fortunate enough to say that I instantly clicked with my roommates, who I still talk to today. The bond formed by being total strangers who suddenly have to live together everyday for a month is unfathomable to people who haven’t experienced it firsthand. It is weird to say that, although I have only known them for 3 weeks, I consider them as some of my best friends. It was also common for many to be friends with people from their classes, however, in the end, I did not exactly click with my classmates as well. But this is a completely different story. 


Brown University Statue

In Pre-College, there were rules set in place, but really, there were no rules. For Brown Pre-College, you could leave the campus whenever you wanted, even leave the state over the weekend, you could eat whenever you wanted as long as you made it back to your dorm building by 9pm. Brown made sure that there were plenty of activities for us to immerse ourselves in: cross country, movie night on the green, painting in the underground, SAT prep, 4th of July fireworks, Shopping, going to the beach etc. Even when we weren’t participating in these activities, time passed by so quickly, we were always busy doing whatever. 


The environment was different to highschool. Although there were still friend groups and certain cliques, the atmosphere was extremely liberal and open-minded. I realized that because everyone was so different to each other, it was what made everyone fit in. The sense of liberty and freedom was completely different to my experience in an international private school in Taiwan. 



Price

Pre-College programs can be extremely pricey. Due to this high price, pre-college is definitely a way colleges make profit. Paying this extremely high price for a couple weeks of learning may not be worth it to most people, and it really depends on your intentions on why you want to go to pre-college.



The Experience

Honestly, for me, the experience was worth the price. I always struggled with imposter syndrome, and in the first week I felt like I didn’t deserve the spot in my class; however after encouragement from my friends, I truly gained a lot of confidence over the summer. Pre-college can open your mind to a new lifestyle, independence, different ways of thinking, and gaining new perspectives as you meet and interact with different people.



Pre-College on a College Application

To be perfectly candid, pre-college doesn’t look completely outstanding on an application, predominantly because it isn’t exactly very competitive and it is also very expensive. It also depends on what year of highschool you are in. For example, going to pre-college as a freshman or sophomore may seem more impressive than as a junior or senior because it shows your intellectual curiosity. Whereas as a junior, over the summer you should pursue something that is more unique and that stands out more on a college application that is unique to your passions.



Your Intended Major

The selection of classes or courses in pre-college holds significant weight. If the course you plan to pursue offers unique and specialized knowledge not easily accessible elsewhere, pre-college becomes a more fitting choice for you. However, if the subject matter is likely to be covered in your high school curriculum, it may not be as worthwhile as you initially perceive it to be. Consider the distinctiveness and value of the course when weighing the benefits of pre-college participation.



Opportunity Cost

One crucial aspect to consider is the availability of alternative options. Internships, community service, and travel experiences are among the activities that may hold greater significance for you or appear more impressive on college applications. It is advisable to prioritize these pursuits over pre-college programs. If you still have a month or a few weeks left in your schedule after engaging in these activities, then enrolling in a pre-college program can be a valuable addition.



Conclusion

There are numerous summer programs and activities available to engage in. Attending a pre-college program at an Ivy League institution does not carry the same level of prestige as admission to the college itself. Beware of brand names as gaining acceptance to Harvard Pre-College does not guarantee admission to top-ranked colleges. Pre-college admissions are relatively less competitive. Ultimately, the value of pre-college depends on your age, interests, and how you prioritize other summer activities.

Commentaires


bottom of page