top of page

Yarn and Resilience | Madhatters Knit

Interviewed By: Lucas Ting


Harris Chen, a remarkable high school student, shares his heartwarming story about how he founded a non-profit organization in Taiwan. He is a beacon of passion and determination as he aspires to make a true difference.


What inspired you to start the Madhatters Knit club in Taiwan?

I was inspired by the lack of care for premature babies in Taiwan's hospitals. I noticed that these babies had to endure a more challenging journey, receiving less care than normal infants. This saddened me, and as a result, I decided to establish the Madhatters Knit Club as a non-profit organization in Taiwan and within schools to make beanies for them. A lot of you do not know this, but premature babies lose a lot of heat at the top of their head, which makes them vulnerable to hypothermia. This is why beanies are so crucial for their comfort and survival.



What was the biggest obstacle you had to overcome?

I'd like to unveil some “behind the scenes” that people do not typically see. The biggest obstacle is connecting with people who have knitting skills whilst having free hours to contribute to the club. Specifically, this involves collaborating with major companies like Yahoo and finding individuals willing to dedicate their time and effort to knit for the 11 hospitals I currently work with.


What was one experience that stood out to you the most? Was there any particular baby or family who’s story stood out to you?

Last winter, there was a sudden surge in demand for beanies at 新光 hospital. I was personally invited to the hospital where I was given a tour around the hospital facility. I had to witness several premature babies in their incubators. They were the babies in constant danger. It was truly a sad scene. The hospital staff expressed deep gratitude for my support in caring for the vulnerable infants.



What is something that people do not realize you do for the club?

I am actually responsible for providing all the essential materials for knitting. The materials don’t just spawn out of thin air. I had to visit numerous stores to gather all the necessary materials; it became challenging at times when certain items were in shortage.



In what ways have you impacted the babies in need?

Since August 2022, over the span of ten months, we have donated 3000 beanies to 12 different hospitals across Taiwan. This extends beyond Taipei, reaching cities such as 彰化, 台中, and 台南. I believe my contributions have been significant, as hospitals are now well-stocked with beanies, benefiting not only premature babies but also other infants.


How do you involve volunteers in the knitting club?

One effective approach I use to engage and recruit volunteers is by sharing stories about the premature babies. Ultimately, the volunteers serve the babies, not me. While I do express my personal inspiration and the significance of the organization, it is crucial to emphasize the purpose behind knitting for these babies and how much impact they can make through their knitting.



Have you collaborated with any hospitals or other organizations to expand Madhatter Knits?

Yes, we have collaborated with multiple organizations, including Yahoo, 新光醫院 (Shin Kong Wu Ho-Su Memorial Hospital), and 慈善基金會 (philanthropic foundations). You can find more information on our Instagram page. These collaborations have significantly expanded our organization, boosting production efficiency. In retrospect, they have been pivotal for us to broaden our reach across various regions



What advice would you give to someone who is interested in starting a community service project?

This question resonates with me, as I consider myself an optimistic and supportive individual in my community. If you are contemplating starting a new community service project, passion is the key. If you create an organization solely for university applications, or to enhance your school portfolio, your energy and effort will be limited. My number one advice is to find true passion for what you love to do and never force yourself into a project for the sake of appearances. I would recommend starting with a friend, as it really establishes your motivation and makes the project more enjoyable and fun.



What are your future plans for this organization?

While I cannot continue this indefinitely since I have future aspirations, I plan to expand the organization further. My intention is to pass down the leadership to someone younger than me. I hope to extend this organization to other Southeast Asian countries. That would be our ultimate goal. As a smaller milestone, I plan to reach out to many more hospitals and organizations, potentially reaching 15 or 16 by the end of this year.


What are some key lessons that creating this organization “Mad Hatter Knits” has taught you?

What have you learned from your experiences with this community project? There are numerous aspects I would love to discuss. Firstly, I wouldn't consider this a project at all because projects have defined start and end points, deadlines, and restrictions. For me, this is my way of giving back to the community by providing for babies as long as possible.


Patience is the most important lesson I have learned from running this organization. People have different schedules, making it challenging to coordinate with people from different organizations. I have developed patience when it comes to accommodating others' time constraints and planning. We began with one hospital collaboration in August last year, and as we expanded to 12 hospitals, it became increasingly difficult to manage my daily schedule.


Comments


bottom of page